In the Bowels of Binondo

Manila, the Philippines

April 22, 2010

It was said that God made man and woman; everything else was made in China. I would say that everything that God had made was eaten in China and in Chinatowns the world over.

Binondo Church

Every major city in the world outside China, it seemed, had a Chinatown. Manila had one of the oldest – at more than 500 years old! After all these centuries, Binondo was still a partly-insulated enclave of Chinoys (Chinese-PinoyPinoy being a vernacular shorthand for Filipino). Binondo was the heart of old Manila. That heart had since been transplanted to Makati in recent years. Now Binondo was more like the belly of Manila – the city’s gastronomic center where dim sum delights and lavish lauriat could be had. I’d always wanted to sample authentic Chinatown cuisine, but it was not common for most to go to Binondo. It was in an out-of-the-way district for people from other parts of the metro. One day, the yuzhou conspired that I should go on a culinary tour of Binondo, thanks to my Chinoy friend who treated us on his birthday.

Binondo Chuch Nave and Retable

We all converged at Binondo Church, a logical meet-up place since it was just meters down the bridge that connected Chinatown to the rest of the country. It was still the Philippines so a major landmark in this Chinatown was not a temple but a cathedral, formally named Minor Basilica of St. Lorenzo Ruiz after the first Filipino saint. Ruiz worked in the church for many years until a twist of fate led him to Japan where he was martyred for his faith.

But we were here for physical sustenance, not spiritual. Off to the food trail we scurried. First stop was a hole in the wall, but my friend swore by their dumplings: Dong Bei Dumplings along Yuchengco Street at the back of the church. The restaurant had no more than five tables, two of which were used by the owner and her assistant in making dumplings. This was no assembly line; the owner had a hand, literally, in dumpling-production.

Dong Bei Dumplings

Frankly, I’d rather not see how my food was prepared; otherwise, it could ruin my appetite. However, the scene just screamed cultural experience! It felt like a real organized tour. The assistant was balling up dough into dumpling wrappers on a large wooden board; the owner who spoke Chinese was spreading chopped kutchay mixed with minced meat on the wrappers and cupping them into half-moons.

Roll, Roll, Roll Your Dough….
Dumping Dumpling Filling: Dong Bei Dumplings

Immersion much, but what of the dumplings? They were savory, tender to the bite. My friend got us the famous steamed kutchay dumplings, the production of which we were witnessing. He ordered for us in Chinese, as if Tagalog were a foreign language. Most Chinoys, especially the older set, would insist on using their native languages (Fookien, Mandarin, Cantonese) like an insider’s pass.

Kutchay Dumplings

We ate with steel chopsticks, which meant less trees were cut to make disposable utensils. After dunking a dumpling on a bowl of soy sauce with freshly-squeezed calamansi (small round lime), the diner should devour it in one bite, otherwise the watery content may squirt in a potentially embarrassing trajectory. You may want to leave it to cool down a bit as it was served steaming hot. I didn’t, and consequently burned my tongue. I had to wash it down with service tea and fan my open mouth with my hand.

The word fungus at a menu posted on the wall, however, made us squirm. Before we were served, I had to confirm with my friend that the first item on the menu was NOT what we ordered. He spoke in Fookien, after all. Oh well, it was true that the Chinese would eat everything that walked, crawled, flew, and swam; I should’ve guessed airborne organisms were also fair game. I associated fungus with skin disease.

First Item on the Menu – Fungus!
A Street Altar in Binondo

Before we continued on our food trail, we had a bit of food for the soul. At a street corner stood a curious altar – a Christian cross flanked by Buddhist images. Passersby stopped to pray, lighting Buddhist incense instead of Catholic candles. I knew of some Chinoys who went to both Catholic churches and Buddhist temples and saw no contradiction. This corner altar was a shrine to that Chinoy brand of religious pluralism.

Wengers @ Ongpin Street, Binondo

We headed on to the famous Ongpin Street – the intestine of Binondo. The vicinity was home to southern Chinese cuisine in the country. Renowned restaurants like President Grand Palace Restaurant and Eng Bee Tin Chinese Deli were located on Ongpin. My friend, however, ignored the latter and downright refused to take us to the former, saying that there had been a change of management and the quality of food could not match its former glory. Instead, he took us to eateries he regularly went to. These places were not on Ongpin per se, but on its numerous side streets.

We dropped in a mom-and-pop grocery store named Xin Tai Xiang Shi Pin on Salazar Street that specialized in sweets. We tried their vegan hopia (round bite-size pastry, usually bean-filled). Veggies never tasted this sweet. Rows of Chinese delicacies, such as hopia and mooncake, were delicately wrapped in colorful paper. They were literally eye candies. I was rendered illiterate though – the goodies had been imported from Taiwan and labeled in Chinese characters.

Vegan Hopia in Xin Tai Xiang Shi Pin, Binondo
Radish Cake

After introducing us to Taiwanese delights, my friend decided we should try another local Chinatown product – from a sidewalk take-out counter. Although not peddled in push carts, it was still street food served in take-away portions and eaten on-the-go. Street food was popular in the Philippines, maybe because the average Pinoy loved to “stand by” (a Philippine English expression) on sidewalks.

Being vegan, my Chinoy friend recommended the radish cake. I never imagined radish as cake material, but we could leave it to the Chinese to think of the unthinkable – and make it work. The cake was fried so it packed more crunch and, as any dim sum, dipped in the ubiquitous soy sauce. A friend wondered aloud before spearing a piece with his chopstick, “So does it taste like radish?” Another one bitched, “No, carrot.” Yet another chimed in, “No, potato!” We all had a good laugh.

I had never been a big fan of street food in Manila. Not to unfairly blame the food, which could be delish, the sights and smells just did not induce appetite. Manila was, sadly, one of the dirtiest cities I had been to. Binondo was no exception. In fact, it was known for its filthy canals (estero – literally, estuary) choked by informal settlers and their wastes. Eating amidst the pungent mix of brackish water, rotting food, human excrement, and assorted garbage may require a stronger stomach. To be fair, places beyond estero bridges were not as smelly.

Binondo Estero

By then, we had walked enough and the host announced that dinner was ready to be served – at Suzhou Dimsum on Gandara Street. Dinner consisted of tofu with century egg, steamed shrimp, braised beef, pork adobo, service tea galore, and of course, steamed dumplings that came in a two-tiered container.

Since it was our friend’s special day, we regaled him with a rowdy rendition of the birthday song in mispronounced Mandarin Chinese. Good thing we didn’t save our bells and whistles because the owner gave us a big fat discount. Thirty percent! Apparently, the birthday boy was not the only one who enjoyed our performance. Xie xie.

Take a Dumpling

We capped the night at my friend’s favorite hang-out, Rosso Cafe, on the same street. But after all the “bottomless” (Philippine English for free refill) service tea we had, we chucked the caffeine and opted for their two-fruit mash-up shakes. I had the strawberry-mango combo which was tangy and sweet – the perfect equalizer to all the flavors I had tasted on this culinary tour.

Miss E and her Fruity Mash-Up @ Rosso Cafe

Any trip to Binondo should be had with this in mind: When in Chinatown, do as the Chinese do – eat everything. Then tell me what that fungus tastes like.

16 thoughts on “In the Bowels of Binondo

  1. Its good that the picture of the Binondo Estero looks “clean”. During my time, when I was there, its full of rubbish! Somehow, there is progress in keeping the “estero” clean. I love the place Binondo especially Chinatown where you can savor and enjoy the Chinese cuisine. Did you visit those restaurants where they have lapu-lapu in their aquarium? Pick one and they will cook it for you, but, you’re unaware that there is already a dead fish in the kitchen (hearsay!). I can’t forget the “hopia” of Eng Bee – very tasty and delicious!

    1. I can’t say whether there has been improvement in waste management in Manila. Other parts of that same estero are covered with mountains of garbage. Yeah, the photo does not really show a garbage-strewn estero. I took it nonetheless because I liked the reflection of the building on the canal. 🙂

      It’s an age-old problem and I think it won’t go away if the government continues to turn a blind eye on the informal settlers living on the banks, especially in this part of Manila up to Navotas.

  2. Another great post! I love dumplings of any kind with a passion. I’ve made siopao and siomai myself since there are no good dumplings withing an hour of where I live. When I quasi-lived in New York City one of my favorite restaurants used to make their dumplings in the front window and this reminded me of that.

    I’ve heard of the filth that can be found in metro Manila but this still looks like a worthwhile trip. Your group looks jolly and I can’t imagine more fun than an eating tour. 😀

    1. You will find heaven in Binondo then. It’s dumpling central. 🙂

      Good for you, TAO – you can make your own siopao and siomai. The best I can do in the kitchen is cook rice in a rice cooker! When I lived in Shanghai, I’d just get frozen dumplings from the supermarket, dump ’em in hot water, and viola, dinner’s served.

      Oh, and jolly does not even begin to describe my company in this tour. I edited out the really incriminating photos, believe me. 🙂

      1. Well, in the place I live there are not dumplings frozen or fresh so I have to make them. Since I do love to cook it’s not a hardship.

        So, you hold onto the incriminating photos for blackmail at a later date?

  3. ah yes, binondo… one of the hidden treasures of manila. i really love that place and it is in my top ten list actually. the food, the architecture, the energy of that place is just amazing. did i mention the food?:) now i am hungry aj. lol!

    1. Couldn’t agree with you more. No wonder you call your site SiomaiPhotos. Maybe I should call mine HopiaBlog. I love all kinds of hopia, even vegan hopia. Oh except hopiang baboy. Hehe

    1. Yes, according to my American friend, of all people. Probably just a translation issue. Or perhaps in a botanical sense, mushrooms belong to the fungus family. Dunno really. It’s just weird to find the word in a restaurant menu. 🙂

  4. I had the pleasure of walking the length of Ongpin (from Carriedo to Binondo Church) twice, but not ever for a gastronomical adventure! Would do that some other time!

    1. Add it to your must-do list, Baki. Try the small restos at the esquinitas too. Look for Quick Snack. Their machang is really good – both the sticky rice and the filling!

      1. Will do! Any other pointers? I’m gunning for inexpensive to make the most of the walk.

    2. It’s mostly affordable in Binondo, especially if you keep to hole-in-the-wall restos. That’s prolly the best tip I can give. If you wanna go lauriat and all, then you can try President or Suzhou. But of course, never forget to have hopia from Eng Bee Tin. They have an array of flavors you’ve never associated with hopia before, I’m sure. That is, if you have a sweet tooth like me!

Leave a Reply

