The Pure Shores of Puerto Princesa

Puerto Princesa City, the Philippines

March 24 – 26, 2013

Our airport shuttle had traversed the narrow width of Palawan, yet we were still within Puerto Princesa, the Philippines’ second largest city in area. Right smack between the city’s eastern and western coastlines were picturesque limestone mountains, one of which was Cleopatra’s Needle. According to my brother who had previously worked in Palawan, the mountain was originally called Cleopatra’s Nipple – its summit did look like a pointy teat  – but local people felt squeamish saying it. I never knew if that was just a joke; at least he got a chuckle out of my mother.

Sabang Beach @ Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort, Palawan

At the end of a two-hour drive through zigzagging highways over Cleopatra’s bosom, we were welcomed by the aquamarine vista of the South China Sea to Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort. The swoosh of foam-crested waves lazily lapping the shore summoned us to make a beeline for the beach.

Grandson and Granny Walking to the Beach @ Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
Unimpeded View of Sand and Sea @ Sabang Beach, Palawan

Save for a few lounge chairs in the shadow of coconut trees, this stretch of Sabang Beach was left to its sandy glory, an unimpeded view of sand and sea. The resort had apparently stuck by the local policy prohibiting any development to encroach within eight meters from the shoreline, one of the fruits of my brother’s work on nature conservation in Palawan some three decades earlier.

Mom and My Brother: Wading at the Shallows of Sabang Beach, Palawan
Mom @ Sabang Beach (Mt. Bloomfield in the Background)
Mom @ Sabang Beach (Mt. Bloomfield in the Background)

It was a breath of fresh air to find Mother Nature stripped of the noise – aural and visual – that drowned her out in other beaches. There lay the difference between Puerto Princesa and Puerto Galera. Without the distraction of blaring music and raucous water sports, you could keep time to the heaving of the sea: an acoustic version of Boracay, if you will.

La Beachy Vita @ Daluyon Beach & Mountain Resort
Beach Babe @ Sabang Beach, Palawan

We mostly owned the beach. Only later in the afternoon would fellow guests, a few families and couples, and a pack of dogs chasing the surf join us. Daluyon’s ambiance was tropical zen rather than beach party. At one point, I was swimming alone as mom retreated to a lounge chair. I figured she had dozed off so I kept an eye on her, making sure she was not leaning enough to fall off the chair. Little did I know she was watching me back, making sure I was not getting swept away to the open sea. We were each other’s keeper! 

The Beach Bum and the Photo Bomb! @ Sabang Beach, Palawan
Footprint in the Sand @ Sabang Beach, Palawan
Pristine Paradise, Virgin Beach, and TTT @ Sabang Beach, Palawan

Over at the cove leading to the Monkey Trail, no coconut trees dotted the entire length of the beach. The seaward edge of the forest had not been cleared and replaced by palm trees more popularly associated with tropical beaches, again thanks to the preservation efforts of the team that my brother headed in the 1980s. What a rare gift it was to see both sea and rain forest under the same sky.

Sand Patterns @ Sabang Beach, Palawan
Forest Line @ Sabang Beach, Palawan

An out-of-place zip-line traversed the cove, but by happy chance it had closed for the day. Earlier that afternoon, a foreign couple had the beach to themselves. By twilight, only a solitary baby egret scoured the shore for small fish deposited there by the waves. The fading light danced its swan song on the water as the full moon crept up the half-moon cove. A burst of sunset colors, partially eclipsed by a column of clouds, silhouetted Mt. Bloomfield. At that moment, Sabang Beach was all mine.

Spot the Baby Egret @ Sabang Beach, Palawan
Colors of the Sunset @ Sabang Beach, Palawan
Moonrise Over Sabang Beach, Palawan

Mining scandals notwithstanding, this was the Palawan I had imagined: the closest place to a pristine paradise in these times of tourism overdevelopment. With more nature and fewer distractions and no crowds, Sabang Beach was truly “a place I can call mine” – a line from Pure Shores, a song that would take me back to my beach in Puerto Princesa.

Never been here before

I’m intrigued, I’m unsure

I’m searching for more

I’ve got something that’s all mine.

Take me somewhere I can breathe

I’ve got so much to see

This is where I want to be

In a place I can call mine.

Half Sunset @ Sabang Beach, Palawan
Half a Sunset @ Sabang Beach, Palawan
13 thoughts on “The Pure Shores of Puerto Princesa

    1. Not in the city proper where the airport is. Sabang Beach is 2 hours or so away, but still within Puerto Princesa City. As I’ve said, PP is the second largest city in the country with an area of more than 2,300 sq km! It covers Honda Bay (east) and Sabang Beach (west).

      Sabang is more than decent! It’s the jump-off point to the Underground River. Parts of it is within the protected area of St. Paul Mountain Range.

  1. hi AJ, this is one beautiful post because it has your heart in it … thank you for sharing. i smiled at your caption for the photo with your brother, even that was touching, it showed how affable you are with each other 🙂

    would love to revisit Palawan! — APRIL

    1. Thanks April! I appreciate that someone sees my heart in my posts. I take my trips to heart, hence the personal approach. 🙂 My brother? He’s always mock-bullying me. Typical kuya. Actually, I called this trip a “bullcation” (bull session-vacation), haha!

  2. I love it when beaches are empty. It almost seems as if we own the place and we are also free to enjoy the pleasures of the sea/shore/sand all by ourselves. We have a beach close by which is near empty. We enjoy going there and having a drink by the sea 🙂

    I need to make a trip to the Philippines soonest.

    Joy always,
    Susan

    1. I had my anti-Facebook moment at that empty beach. Without wi-fi, I was disconnected from the world yet it was a moment I felt most connected with it. But of course, I had to take photos to share in FB and Instagram. Ah the irony!

      We’ve said we’d visit each other’s countries for years. I wonder which one of us would actually do. 😉

  3. Is that a private beach resort? the area looks not crowded. Based on your pictures I can see that the place is really beautiful offering a breathtaking backdrop. I hope I can visit that place because I want a spot where I can feel tranquility during my next vacation. 🙂

    1. No, not a private beach, but for some reason it was never crowded during the 3 days we were there. The far end of the beach leads to the Monkey Trail that goes to the mouth of the Underground River (if you don’t want to take the boat). The nearest resort is Daluyon, which I highly recommend.

  4. nice beach! was supposed to go there last year with work friends but I was already backpacking in SEA. So may pumalit by using my ticket. hehehe. at least nagamit din nila. hehe

    1. Oh, gora na to Sabang, but not with colleagues. Usually empty so it’s perfect for romantic PG-13 lip-locking shots with your special someone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

